Colorbond back and side fences for new homes, aluminium slat and open front fences, matching side and driveway gates, and pool fences: licensed fencing contractors quote for jobs across Chisholm and the Thornton North estates from an enquiry to Fencing Maitland.
Fencing services in Chisholm
- Colorbond fencingBack and side boundary fences for new Chisholm homes, usually shared with the neighbour.
- Timber fencingTreated pine and hardwood paling fences, lapped and capped.
- Pool fencingGlass and aluminium pool fences and gates for new pools.
- GatesSide, driveway and sliding gates built, hung, rehung and relatched.
- Fence repairsPosts, rails, palings and steel sheets replaced; storm damage fixed.
- Rural fencingPost and rail, wire and stock fencing, and farm gates for acreage.
- Front fencesOpen-style slat and picket front fences, which the Chisholm West precinct controls ask for.
Fence costs in Chisholm
Published fence prices per metre
| Fence | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Colorbond, Newcastle and Hunter region (NSW guide) | $85 – $135 per m | The Quote Yard |
| Colorbond, 1.8 m, installed (NSW) | $85 – $150 per m | The Quote Yard |
| Treated pine paling, 1.8 m, installed (NSW) | $75 – $130 per m | The Quote Yard |
| Colorbond, standard 1.8 m, installed (Sydney) | $100 – $160 per m | North Shore Fencing and Gates |
| Aluminium pool fence, installed (Sydney) | $120 – $200 per m | North Shore Fencing and Gates |
Checked 28 October 2026. No Maitland fencing business publishes prices. The Quote Yard is a NSW quote marketplace (August and September 2026, GST not stated); North Shore Fencing and Gates is a Sydney contractor (2025 guide, GST included). Your own price comes after the fence line has been seen.
Colorbond fence costs Timber fence costs Pool fence costs
What a fence quote in Chisholm needs
- The length in metres and the height, and which boundary the fence is on
- What's there now, and whether the old fence comes out first (more than 10 m² of fibro must be removed by a licensed asbestos removalist)
- Whether a neighbour shares the boundary: under the Dividing Fences Act they usually share the cost, after a fencing notice
- The ground: slope, rock, tree roots, and access for posts and materials
- Photos of the fence line and anything in the way
Front fence rules in Chisholm West and Thornton North
Chisholm is part of the Thornton North urban release area in Maitland DCP 2026 (10.4.5). For the Chisholm West precinct it says: "Any fencing of allotments forward of the front building line are to be an open style of consistent design, material and colour". On rural and flood-fringe allotments, fencing is "to be of post and wire style (or similar)".
Those controls apply when the fence is part of a development needing consent. Newer estates often add covenants on the title (an 88B instrument) about fence colour and style, which apply whatever the planning rules say, so check yours before ordering.
New homes, new boundary fences
At the 2021 Census, 99.4% of Chisholm's 1,406 occupied private dwellings were separate houses, and 61.0% were owned with a mortgage (ABS QuickStats). For a new home that usually means back and side boundary fences shared with the neighbours. Under the Dividing Fences Act the cost of a sufficient fence is split equally after a fencing notice; in a street of steel fences, steel is likely to be what's usual.
Fencing nearby
Fencing questions in Chisholm
What front fence can I build in Chisholm?
Under the Codes SEPP an exempt front fence is no higher than 1.2 m and at least 20% open. In Chisholm West the DCP also asks for an open style of consistent design, material and colour, and your estate covenant may set more.
Who pays for the fence between two new homes?
Both owners usually share a sufficient dividing fence equally under the Dividing Fences Act, after a fencing notice. Agree the colour and height together.
Can I fence a rural-edge lot in Chisholm with Colorbond?
The DCP asks for post and wire style fencing on rural and flood-fringe allotments in Thornton North, and on a flood control lot a new house fence isn't exempt development.
Where this information comes from
The prices and local details on this page come from these published pages, checked on 28 October 2026.
- North Shore Fencing and Gates: fencing cost guide Sydney 2025 · Sydney fencing contractor (Lindfield), price guide titled 2025; "all quoted prices include GST"
- The Quote Yard: fencing costs NSW 2026 · NSW quote-comparison marketplace (it doesn't do trade work itself), price guide published 14 August 2026; GST not stated
- The Quote Yard: timber fence cost NSW 2026 · NSW quote-comparison marketplace, price guide published 8 September 2026; GST not stated
- Maitland DCP 2026, Chapter 10: Special Precincts, Locality Plans and Urban Release Areas · Maitland City Council, in effect 14 April 2026
- Dividing Fences Act 1991 (NSW) · NSW legislation, version in force from 1 July 2018 (ss 3, 4, 7–9, 11–13A)
- State Environmental Planning Policy (Exempt and Complying Development Codes) 2008 · NSW planning policy: cl 1.16, 2.25, 2.30AA–2.30AB, 2.33–2.36, 3.29; read from the version in force from 31 October 2025
- ABS: 2021 Census QuickStats, Chisholm (SAL10908) · Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2021 Census, dwelling structure and tenure


